Meaningful Morning | A Playlist

coffeemorningIt’s been a little while since I last weighed in on my meaningful morning resolutions. How have you been doing in those wee little hours of your day? Are you feeling more alive, more invigorated with every passing day because of the way you spend your mornings?

I’m getting there.

Here’s a brief recap of the journey I began last month: Lacey Ellman inspired me this October during her 31 Days to a Meaningful Morning series to give my morning routine a little checkup. (Read it! It’s the best.) In doing so, I found, just as I suspected, a run-of-the-mill, stressed-out, lifeless pattern emerging. So I started dreaming. Through a process of reflection, I discovered some core desired feelings* of mine, which led to some vision-casting and birthing of ideas for new, life-giving morning structures.

*Core desired feelings: the state of emotional wellbeing your soul is longing for. Ask yourself, what do you want to feel like? And those are your core feelings. Coined by Danielle LaPorte in her book, The Desire Map.

THINK/REFLECT

Here’s what my mornings have been like for a while: rushing around, being grumpy, living in survival mode.

Here’s what I want them to be like: wakeful, refreshing, spiritually nourishing.

[AHEM – Doesn’t everyone wish all day every day could be so idyllic?]

But like I say, ain’t nothin’ can’t be done with a little bit of reflection. It’s good medicine for the soul, I highly recommend it.

It’s not surprising that my first vision for my meaningful mornings was one of uplifting music filling the room where I get ready. As a musician, sound has a profound effect on me. Whether it’s a great song, sermon, or podcast, I love to listen and soak up the energy of whatever it is I’m tuning into. Music draws me in and has the ability to set the course for my emotional mindset for the day. “Am I going to be happy? Or sad? Quiet? Or curious?” Music can sometimes make the difference.

REVISITING INTENTION

I wish to begin my days feeling fully alive. I want my morning ritual to be gentle, and to ease me into the day feeling centered and ready to greet the day. To start the day prepared, with a deep calm and a full heart, feeling one with God’s love for me and for the world.

And so, I present you with my Meaningful Morning Playlist, step one on a journey to more wakeful, decidedly happy and centered mornings. It is by no means definitive. There will always be a new good song to add and I may get sick of these songs any day now. I make no promises that these songs will do the trick for you. Many of them lean heavily towards my feeling-fully-alive core desired feeling – the part of me that lives to dream big and live life to the fullest. You also might notice that despite my quest for feeling more connected to God each day, this playlist includes no Christian music (Well, except for Aradhna, which is arguably Christian.) I didn’t really do that on purpose. These songs open my heart up to love, to joy and peace. They are the songs I’ve discovered that really get me feeling like the me I want to be at the beginning of each new day and get the other parts of me that obstruct my path to God out of the way.

Drumroll, please…

MEANINGFUL MORNING PLAYLIST

  1. Free My Mind - Kate Herzig
  2. Helplessness Blues - Fleet Foxes
  3. Blindsided - Bon Iver
  4. Mukteshwar - Aradhna
  5. Love You Madly - Cake
  6. Daylight - Matt & Kim
  7. Total Serendipity - Mates of State
  8. Rocks and Daggers - Noah & the Whale
  9. A Loan For the Lonely - DTMD (NSFW/Not Safe For Work)
  10. Make You Feel My Love - Adele

Enjoy the music and be blessed on your journey.

Some THANKS are in order to my trusty music discovery friend, Pandora, as well as my new buddy Songza, an app I’ve been using constantly on my phone.

I’d love to hear from you! What songs, sermons, podcasts, etc. tend to be soul-nourishing for you? What would you change about your morning routine to make it more life-giving?

Drop Me a Line

