Waking Up Well

coffee

an update on my journey to a meaningful morning

I’m a firm believer in the idea that intentional reflective practices can cause positive change.

The past few weeks I’ve been putting a little extra thought into my daily routines, specifically those I practice every morning. Mornings can be tough, or they can be a delight. I never considered myself a “morning person,” but what was once a harried race out the door into the chaos the day for me is slowly evolving into an open space that exists for my pleasure and connection with God, a process that is making me feel like I really must be growing up.

What exactly have I been reflecting on this month? The stuff that makes my mornings better. Here are a few elements I’ve discovered my kind of morning of renewal possesses:

  • coffee & cream
  • seasonal scented candles
  • a homemade fruit smoothie
  • background music
  • an early bedtime the night before

The main idea of my centered mornings is that they will set the scene for an emotionally balanced day and a closer connection with God. I am still on the hunt for spiritual formation materials that I can stay awake to absorb. It takes my coffee a while to kick in, so reading doesn’t always work great for me in the mornings. Instead of literature (something I like to sink into in the evenings), I’m on the lookout for podcasts or inspirational music that will set my heart and mind in a calm and gentle state each morning.

Progress is being made and I am feeling better already about my daily beginnings! Thanks again to Lacy Ellman at A Sacred Journey for inspiring positive change with her 31 Days to a Meaningful Morning series.

How do you go about waking up well? I’d love to hear in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Waking Up Well

  1. I heard a speaker at Women of Faith mention that she wakes up to music from her smartphone each morning, playing Hillsong, I think it was. You might enjoy something more along the lines of Edvard Grieg. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful post! Thank you for writing this. I believe in having a morning practice because it sets the tone for the rest of my day. This is what I strive for each morning:
    * meditation
    *yoga
    *tea
    *inspirational reading
    *short journal entry
    *set intention for the day

    Liked by 1 person

Drop Me a Line

