What I’m Into | July 2014

julycollage

July has flown by! I felt so busy with nannying and planning ahead for the school year with my piano studio (and posting about my trip to California) that I hardly remember what else I’ve even done. I am not normally this busy. But I’m going to do my darndest to try and recap the highlights for this month’s What I’m Into.


READING

My reading this month is geared towards some self-improvement on the piano teaching and emotional fronts.

  • Pianist’s Guide to Standard Teaching and Performance Literature, by Jane Magrath
  • How to Sit, by Thich Nhat Hanh

MUSIC

Here are three of my favorites from July. I’m only giving you three because I’m making up for it by telling you a secret afterwards…

  1. Take Shelter, Years and Years
  2. Slow Motion, PHOX
  3. Water Fountain, Tune-Yards

P.S. Here’s the secret… bridge909.org has free streaming, and if you like the music I’ve posted here, you might like their stuff.


FOOD

IMG_6922
Sushi dinner on the coffee table – “Japanese style.”

My husband made SUSHI more than one time this month! I am a lucky lucky girl. Don’t get me wrong – I’m still a weenie when it comes to raw fish. I like my California rolls with fake crab, avocado, carrots and cream cheese. Yum!

I made chicken noodle soup this month using Gwyneth Paltrow’s recipe for vegetable stock and adding rotisserie chicken that I pulled apart by hand, along with some noodles. I also doubled the amount of celery and carrots the stock called for and didn’t strain it at the end. It was delish and we had tons of leftovers, which we stored in our new FRIDGE! I highly recommend her cookbook, It’s All Good. It is my primary resource for meal ideas. I like it because each dish is pretty versatile.


THINGS I LOVE

Working hard to do what I love…

piano
play me

I devoted many hours this month to reworking all the little details in my piano studio to get set for the upcoming school year. I also arranged for our piano to be moved in, ordered business cards, bought some new materials and music, and recruited some new students. I feel accomplished! It’s all downhill after this week. Phew!

In lieu of getting our piano moved in, I’ve been delving into all things interior design oriented to get ideas for what will be our new piano nook. Houzz.com has been amazing for inspiration and how to’s on arranging furniture and defining the look of a room. IKEA is on it’s way to my neck of the woods (Kansas City) and I have a list about two pages long of house-y things I want to find there. Lord help me be patient!

Somehow in the midst of all the planning I did, I managed to get about half of our wedding scrapbook done.

weddingscrapcollage


BLOGOSPHERE

I really enjoyed Donald Miller’s post from this month, Resist the Urge to Create Out of Anger. I am more of a fight person than a flight, so anger is something I have to try to tame when it crops up in anxiety-causing situations. It would be so easy for me to fill this blog with rants – or to fill conversations in real life similarly – but I choose not to, because anger is not something I want to pass on to other people. May there be more happy and more calm in the world. That’s something I want to be part of and to inspire in other people.

BLOGS OF NOTE:


FAVORITE PHOTO

painted ladies
beep beep

This photo is from my trip to California. I just adore the vintage light yellow VW bug in this picture!

My California Travel Log is about ready to wrap up with the last couple of posts on their way soon. As a travel noob, I’ve enjoyed sharing about my trip in so much detail. Perhaps if I get to go someplace new next summer I’ll get to do another travel log!


ON PARCHMENT CADENZA

I had the honor earlier this month of being a featured guest writer on Andrea Reads America. She (Andrea Badgley) has an amazing blog full of sweet Americana and I highly recommend checking it out for yourself. My post that she so graciously shared was “Summer Skin,” my reminiscent thoughts on growing-up-summers in Nebraska. After years of privately cradling my affection for and habit of writing, being published on her blog feels like a step in the right direction.

Blogging just keeps getting better and better. I’m loving it. I love having a space to be creative and feel like a part of a writing community. I may be a music teacher, but there sure is a large space in my heart reserved for the crafting of words. I feel like blogging is a baby step, a “small calling” on the path to a greater calling down the road, slowly forming, surely emerging. Let those doors open wide for opportunity!

As always, thanks for reading. I always appreciate your comments – they make my day!

Your busy blogger,

Leslie

6 thoughts on “What I’m Into | July 2014

  1. Hi! I’m over from Leigh’s blog. Love the bug in the pic, too – so CA! 🙂 I’ll have to check out It’s All Good – I’m always looking for new recipes!

    Like

  2. A KC blogger! Huzzah! We’re currently living abroad, but KC is my heart and home and always happy to find people writing from there. My sister is also fairly stoked about Ikea’s grand opening and we get weekly photo updates on it’s impending completion. Happy days! (visiting from Leigh’s blog)

    Like

    • Yay! I’m so glad you found me, and I in turn found you, a fellow Kansas City-an at heart. I’m excited to read some of your posts – I love the look of your blog. Very classy! Thanks for stopping over!

      Like

  3. “Anger is not something I want to pass on to other people.” Thank you for sharing such a simple and profound thought, one that I believe carries over into so many spaces. What is it that I DO want to share with others? Perhaps I should think about that before beginning a conversation, before an interaction. Or maybe what we really need to be aware of is what is simmering inside of us. Is it fear? Hope? Anxiety? Is it something we want to share with others? If not, how and where do we spill over such things? Look how much you have made me think 🙂

    Like

    • I love this! Your progression of ideas and questions remind me of myself. There are always more questions, aren’t there? “What is it that I do want to share with others” seems to be the perfect question to ask… I’m going to be stewing on that one for a while! Maybe it will inspire a future post! Good to hear from you Amanda! 🙂

      Like

Drop Me a Line

