What I’m Into | June 2014

dog
Cute dog to start you off with a smile!

June has been good to me. I wound up in sunny California for the day of this post’s publishing, so what could be better than that? (Pictures and stories are coming soon!)

With this post I am joining a community of bloggers who share a slice of their lives each month by participating in the fabulous Leigh Kramer’s What I’m Into link-up. This is my second edition.


READING

sonwords overflown

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found these two books at Half Price Bookstore and couldn’t pass them up. I brought Son with me to California and read about half of it on the plane. It’s the best page turner I’ve read in quite some time, and is a quick read besides. So many twists and turns, and I’m not even done with it yet! Lowry keeps the pace up and her readers on the edge of their seats with every step, so to speak.

I’m hoping Words Overflown by Stars helps me out in the writing department, since I haven’t had much formal training but love to write and want to be better.


MOVIES

I love watching movies! One of my favorite things about finally being out of college is not having homework, and therefore having time for movies and other entertainment in the evenings after work. One of these movies is not like the others, see if you can figure it out 🙂

  • The Wedding Singer
  • Riding in Cars with Boys
  • Gattica
  • Fried Green Tomatoes

MUSIC

Thanks to everyone who read my post and enjoyed the playlist from last month! I’ve always been a choosy music listener, so hopefully now others can benefit.

Here are my June favorites.

  1. Blessed, Brett Dennen
  2. Heavenly Day, Patty Griffin
  3. California Dreamin’, The Mamas & The Papas
  4. San Francisco, Scott McKenzie
  5. Muketeshwar, Aradhna
  6. The John Wayne, Little Green Cars
  7. Sweet Disposition, The Temper Trap
  8. Something Good Can Work, Two Door Cinema Club
  9. Belly of June, Horse Feathers
  10. Sway, Mates of State

FOOD

mud pie

Soy lattes make my day. There’s nothing more soothing than a soy latte and a Bible study, I’m tellin’ ya. This page of my journal was waiting to be filled with notes on N.T. Wright’s Ephesians study.

An extra reason that this soy latte gets to take the stage for my ‘Food’ section is the fact that dairy products have been ruining my experiences of food this month, so I am becoming ever so much more grateful for soy and almond milk as milk substitutes. Lactaid is my new friend.


THINGS I LOVE

June Collage

Remember my post from a while ago about having stolen bicycle angst? Well guess what. I finally was able to get a new one! My dream of having a bicycle again came true at long last this month and I wound up with the most beautiful green Trek WFX bike. I am having a blast rediscovering the feeling of the wind in my hair and speeding along (or dawdling, some days) on two fine wheels.

My husband and I took a road trip to visit family in Nebraska this month and had the pleasure of exploring the Swedish Festival taking place that weekend in Stromsburg – “the Swedish capital of Nebraska”. Small towns have the best festivals sometimes! My favorite booth was the birdhouse booth (see photo of awesome purple birdhouse). Just so quaint and colorful. That’s where my hubby and I are seated in the next picture over, in a patio chair made by the same family operation.

It seems like a recurring theme on my blog lately has been animals. They are just cute. I can’t get enough of them. The penguin photo is from the Kansas City Zoo and the jellyfish are from the Monterey Bay Aquarium in California. (Ahem, more photos to come, and get psyched because they are GREAT! *Otters* is all I have to say.)


BLOGOSPHERE

I haven’t had the time to peruse many of the wordy blogs I like lately due to nanny exhaustion, but I found one with pictures that is quite good…

So there’s this cat, and it’s name is Pusheen, and it is hilarious. It’s a blog, so check it out! (If you’re not allergic to cats).


FAVORITE PHOTO

whimsy coffee flower

I discovered a blog called Unsplash that posts copyright-free photos every week. And they are lovely. This girly one is my favorite, with the journal, fluffy flower pen, and steaming teacup. The photos are great for using in blogs, so users can get creative and share away.


ON PARCHMENT CADENZA

I participated (somewhat) in the Writing 101: Building a Blogging Habit prompts. They were really hit and miss for me, partly because I had limited time to commit to writing them, but overall were a great challenge and a fun way to interact with other bloggers hoping to up the anty on their writing skills. People of the blogophere seemed to like this one I contributed: Macaroni & Cheese. You can click on my Blogging University button to see the rest of my posts, if you’re curious about that sort of thing.

Thanks for reading my blog, friends! I’m looking forward to checking out all the other What I’m Into posts.

Be blessed,

Leslie

9 thoughts on “What I’m Into | June 2014

    • You’re so welcome! Here’s a helpful hint – the pictures on the website take a while to scroll through, but if you Google Image search “unsplash” or “unsplash photos” you’ll be able to see LOTS of their photos at the same time. Happy image hunting!

      Like

  1. Hi Leslie, I’m also visiting through Leigh and I clicked on your blog because of that gorgeous teacup picture!

    Thanks for sharing the cat blog. My husband is allergic and of course I really love cats! Check out Henri le chat (youtube) for a laugh as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So much goodness here! LOVE your playlist tunes, the daily blog post prompts site, and the resource unsplash–thanks! (And I see you are a fellow Enneagram 6 – yay 🙂 I’m getting my ‘what i’m into’ post ready to post tomorrow or the next day, but am loving the inspiration from reading all of them today! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! Sounds like we have some things in common 🙂 Glad you liked my playlist and the Writing 101 prompts! So many good things to share in the blog world. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. I think have my biking stolen (almost 20!!!) years ago was one of my most traumatic things. So glad you got a new bike. Thanks for reminding me as well that I want to do a NT Wright study. I can’t decide whether to start with a book of the Bible I love or one of my least favorite ones.
    Have you read the other books in Lowry’s Giver series? I loved how hope continued to emerge through the books, more and more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bikes are such a dear possession, it’s so hard to go through having them stolen! My heart goes out to you. Hope you were able to get a new one as well! NT Wright has a great way of explaining the Bible. I’d say follow your heart on which book to study – they’re all good! I read The Giver and Gathering Blue many years ago, but missed The Messenger somehow. I think I might have to go back and read them when I finish Son. Right now I’m loving the courage of the main character in Son. So inspiring.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Drop Me a Line

