What I’m Into | May 2014

goat and girl
polka dot toes & pygmy goats

Ah, May. A welcome shift in the weather from rain to shine and warm temperatures! School is out and summer is in… I think I’m in love.

With this post I am joining a community of bloggers who share a slice of their lives each month by participating in the fabulous Leigh Kramer’s What I’m Into link-up. This is my first edition. Here’s what’s been going on in my life this month in all the various areas…


READING

ephesians

I haven’t been an avid reader this month, but I hope to spend more time with my nose in a book in June. My husband and I are embarking on an N.T. Wright Ephesians Bible study this week, so that should help. We both love listening to Wright’s sermons online and are looking forward to starting this with friends!

 

Blue_dolphins In addition to the Bible study, I’m beginning Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell. I had to finally pay my huge library fine to check it out so it better be good! Set in the early 1800’s off the coast of California, this book tells the story of a young girl who grew up on San Nicholas Island. I’m hoping it inspires visions of the coast. I’ll be traveling around the San Francisco area with my family in June.

 


TELEVISION

Okay, so I don’t have a TV. Instead I watch Netflix. Portlandia is my favorite Netflix show. It never fails to deliver multitudes of LOLs. I’m also a fan of New Girl, especially since Zooey Deschanel plays music teacher like me (!) though a hair more aloof, which is always entertaining. I like comedies.


MOVIES

outofafrica

I was a lucky lucky girl this month and got to watch two chick flicks with my husband. Normally I’m up for watching whatever he wants, since he’s more of the movie watching type. I like a solid action-adventure plot (most Bond movies, for example), but we’ve had some duds lately, thanks to the ultra violent Elysium and Ender’s Game. What is with this apocalyptic movie craze? It is so not my jam. So this month we watched You’ve Got Mail (Eric had never seen it!) and Out of Africa, which we both loved. I hadn’t watched a chick flick in so long and it was so fun to share these with him! A welcome refresher full of drama, romance, and relational intrigue.


MUSIC

Favorite songs that I will wear out on my poolside playlist this summer (some of these really make me want to start playing guitar again):

  1. Listen Girl, The Frames

  2. I’ll Be Yr Bird, M. Ward

  3. Landslide, Fleetwood Mac

  4. O-O-H Child, The Five Stairsteps

  5. Sir Duke, Stevie Wonder

  6. Hide & Seek, JJ Grey & Mofro

  7. Level, The Raconteurs

  8. Flower, Moby

  9. The Ides, Me Like Bees

  10. Alive Again, Trey Anastasio

  11. Psylla, Glass Animals

  12. Only Love, Ben Howard

  13. 16 Military Wives, The Decemberists

  14. Silver Timothy, Damien Jurado

  15. Atlas, Coldplay

  16. Ramona, Night Beds

  17. Magic, Coldplay


FOOD

thaiOn a chilly night this month I tried the spicy Thai Curry Soup from Noodles & Company, and it is delicious. The soup is a yummy mix of spinach, cabbage, mushrooms, red onions, tomatoes, rice noodles, and meatballs in a coconut curry broth. Somewhere I got the idea that eating food with lots of flavor makes you feel more full than eating plain tasting food – this is a dish that does just that. I had leftovers of this waiting for me the next day for lunch. Yum! I would love to try making this soup at home sometime.

 


THINGS I LOVE

May Collage

School ended this month for us music teachers after a whirlwind of concerts and recitals. I hosted my first piano recital for my students which was a dream come true. Here’s to many, many more! My co-piano teacher friend Emily and I combined studios for the recital and each played a piece at the end. Eric conducted his final choir concerts to complete his first year of teaching.

Once school was out we suddenly had more time to play games (Jaipur, Carcassonne above). We tried out a new coffee shop on the plaza called Kaldi’s Coffee (picture with sweet red chairs) – pretty good coffee, though they were very reluctant to serve me a frappe with soy. I had to convince them I would like it. It was delicious. A friend from church hosted a girl’s night and during the tour of her home we discovered that we could all fit into her jacuzzi! (Standing up.) So of course we had to take a picture. I love spending time with these ladies!

And finally – that Singer sewing machine? Yes, it is my new inspiration to learn how to sew! My mother in law sent it my way this month after her mom and dad moved into an assisted living complex and had to relocate some of their belongings. It was Eric’s grandmother’s, and now has a home in our apartment, waiting for me to give it a try.

Below, this little guy is smiling at you…

IMG_6110

I started nannying some fun little girls this summer and we got to go to a farmstead today to pet some pigmy goats and see the sights! (That’s where the first photo in my post was taken – Little Miss Polka Dot Toes…)


BLOGOSPHERE

I certainly have found some inspiring, simple, wonderful blogs this month. I reblogged Andrea Badgley’s Books are not enough – I love her writing and featured submissions. My last post was based on the findings of Leigh Kramer and her Enneagram & Blogging study, which is awesome. Her post helped me find other bloggers who are also type Six (the Loyalist). So interesting!

Two other highly notable blogs I love and have been following are The Extraordinary Simple Life by Lara Blair and To Love and Truth. I loved Lara’s post from this month called 4 Steps to Overcome Life’s Obstacles & Live Your DreamTo Love and Truth posts brief, focused, Biblically based devotionals that each include a religious painting relating to the text (awesome).

Many of the What I’m Into link-up participants from April had been to the Festival of Faith and Writing Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan that month. I had the pleasure of reading some of their notes from the event, particularly those of Amber Wackford’s here. Oh, how I wish I could hear Anne Lamott speak. Oh! I sincerely hope to make it to one of these conferences someday.


FAVORITE PHOTO

Girls night collection of shoes!
Girls night collection of shoes, streaming in the door.

ON PARCHMENT CADENZA

I have had some sweet comments on my blog this month. Everything from sympathy for my stolen bicycles to excitement over my miniature giraffe photo series I began this month, so I’m thankful for that! My favorite post from May was the one I wrote for my mom, an interview of sorts for Mother’s Day. This summer I’ll be writing a post each week chronicling my creative attempts to save money while still enjoying summer on two music teachers’ budgets. I’m trying to settle into a blog design that is simple but creative, and not so minimal that it is boring. I hope it is working out for you all 🙂

I’m really looking forward to going to California in June! I’m honing my photography skills this month in hopes of getting some stellar pictures to post on the blog in late June or the beginning of July, as sort of a photo essay. Don’t worry – if I’m going to San Francisco, I’ll be absolutely sure to wear some flowers in my hair.

Thanks for reading my blog, beautiful people! Looking forward to checking out all the other What I’m Into posts.

Be blessed,

Leslie

5 thoughts on “What I’m Into | May 2014

  1. I’m so glad you found your way over to my blog to check out my notes from FFW! I still think those quotes are a gold mine, and a month after the conference I’m still thinking about them every day. Anne Lammot is a genius! 🙂

    Also, I’m loving your pool side playlist! Guarantee I’ll be giving into some new ear worms in May. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad I found your notes as well! They were so inspiring and made me feel like almost like I had been there 🙂 Happy listening and happy summer! I know I could listen to those songs I mentioned over and over, hopefully they are that good for you too. Thanks for checking out my post!

      Like

  2. I read and loved Island of the Blue Dolphins when I was growing up. I think it was on the Battle of the Books reading list so once upon a time, I could have answered many questions about it. Hope you enjoy it! Based on your playlist, it seems we have similar taste in music. There’s a few names in there I’m going to have to check out. I’m so glad my Enneagram and Blogging series resonated with you!

    Thanks for linking up with What I’m Into!

    Liked by 1 person

Drop Me a Line

