German Apple Pancake

apple pancake
Good morning sunshine.

Happy Memorial Day!

Holidays and extra days off are always a good excuse to have something fancy for breakfast. I am slowly but surely perfecting my cooking and baking skills, with many experimental flops along the way and several winning dishes I am making sure not to forget. Before getting on with this post, I wanted to say a special thank-you to the many people who generously gave me and my husband some beautiful, super-functional vintage and new kitchen gadgets and supplies at our kitchen-themed wedding shower. I love them and I love using them in our tiny mini-kitchen! My favorite items are the purple Cuisinart hand mixer, vintage white glass mixing bowls, and vintage bakeware, all of which I get to use for this recipe!

I have successfully made this apple pancake on every attempt and it is quite delicious, and actually not that fancy. This morning I woke up incredibly hungry and remembered before opening my eyes that we had 4 apples in our refrigerator, signaling to my brain that I had all the ingredients necessary to make this enormous, rustic-looking pancake and still have leftover apples for eating later, hurray! I love apples. You just need 2 for my halved version of this recipe.

I saved this German Apple Pancake recipe from my international foods class in high school. It’s really not very difficult to make – my only recommendation is to slice and peel the apples first. I was able to make this in our toaster oven. (Our toaster oven has some typical oven settings and can be set to a certain temperature – very convenient for baking and not heating up our apartment. Did I mention we also don’t have an oven? We get by pretty well without it!)

Can I just say that I love that this pancake is done when it is “puffed.” You’ve got to wait for it to “puff”. I love that!

German Apple Pancake

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine
  • 2 large tart apples, peeled, sliced (I used Fuji because they’re my favorite variety)
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. light brown sugar

Directions

Combine eggs, milk and vanilla in mixer bowl; mix well. Add flour, sugar, salt and cinnamon; mix until well blended. Melt butter in 9-inch round baking pan. Place apples over butter. Bake at 425 degrees just until butter begins to sizzle. Pour batter over apples in sizzling hot pan. Sprinkle with brown sugar. Bake for 20 minutes or until pancake is puffed and brown. Serve immediately with favorite toppings. Makes 4 servings.

______

Notes: This is good without any toppings. You could put maple syrup on it but it’s already pretty sweet. And of course, I think it’s best with a little cup of coffee on the side, eaten while still in your pajamas. If you want to make the original recipe (which uses twice the ingredients and yields greater servings), you might consider using a larger baking dish (which might not fit into a toaster oven). When the pancake is maximally puffed, I doubt that it would fit into the 9-inch round baking pan if twice the ingredients were used.

Happy baking!

purple cuisinart
Yes, I wanted the purple ones.

signature

One thought on “German Apple Pancake

Drop Me a Line

