Cozy up with a nice cup of blog

I love coffee, I love tea

The time has come to share some random facts about myself. I’m throwing literary depth out the window this week! [Where did it go?! Let me know if you find it! Literary depth to be continued later… sometime.] Since writing should be fun at least most of the time, this post is a sort of fun montage of me in 20-questions format. A little improvisation on the theme of life, shall we say?

Before you read this, go get yourself a cup of coffee. Or tea. Because

 1. I have 6 years of experience as a barista.

Right now that is more experience than I have doing any other one thing. I still drink one or two cups of coffee every day – you could say I’m hooked. When I started my blog, I dreamed that I could design it so my readers would feel like they were settling into a good book at their favorite coffee house as they read. That’s some dream. My favorite summer coffee beverage: iced chai with espresso and soy milk.

2. I have curly hair.

But you won’t see it in its natural state unless you are my mom or my husband. I straighten it almost every day. This began in 8th grade, towards the end of a long run of trying to look like Mary Kate and/or Ashley Olsen.

3. My dream job has always been to teach piano.

And now that I’ve finished my degree, I get to live my dream! I have several students already and am acquiring more each semester. I was inspired by my high school piano teacher, Judy, who taught art at a community college during the day and piano at night. Her red walls were covered in O’Keefes.

Proud teacher moments…

4. I am an expert in making it through a music education degree.

The secret? Hard work, friends, prayer and mental health breaks. (A good combination to champion most of life’s obstacles.)

5. I am an introvert.

I am perfectly content to be by myself for long periods of time. This is most likely because I grew up an only child. BUT, I do love me a good evening with friends and family, catching up and chatting. Especially when there is food involved.

6. My celebrity look-a-like is Taylor Swift.

But no, I’m not related.

7. I love to take pictures!

8. What makes a house a home? Candles and cut flowers.

9. I could spend all day… Writing

10. My first plane ride was to New York City when I was 20 years old. I went with my college choir and we sang at Carnegie Hall. Yep! Pretty epic.

11. I’ve given up drinking milk. Milk gives me stomach aches and makes me stuffy.

12. I started believing in Jesus when I was 13. It was after a friend began taking me to her youth group and Christian concerts. I bought my own first Bible from Barnes and Noble.

13. Last December I married the man of my dreams!

And… after a generous friend and her genius mother taught me how, I made all the bouquets and boutonnieres for our wedding party, with some extra help from my mom, mother in law, and aunt the night of our rehearsal. In the process I discovered that I LOVE making bouquets. On a rainy day you might just find me perusing the floral department at Hobby Lobby…

rings
Our wedding rings

14. My favorite meal to make lately…

Is grilled chicken with roasted asparagus and potatoes. I use lots of Trader Joe’s African Smoke spice on just about everything savory I make, including this meal. (I am a liberal user of spices.) If you’ve never tried it, I highly suggest you do. It is delicious!

15. After getting engaged, my now-hubby and I ran away to spend two nights snowed in at a monastery in Kansas.

We hung out with Brother Joe during the day and learned about how monks don’t speak to each other until after breakfast – after most of them have had their morning coffee. Good rule!

We joined them for prayer at intervals throughout the day.
We joined the monks for prayer at intervals throughout the day.

16. Favorite de-stresser: Taking a bath

17. My dream is to be a good adult with a child’s spirit, to laugh, to encourage others, and to bring people together

18. Guilty pleasure: McDonald’s fries

19. I wish I spent more time doing yoga.

20. Favorite verse:

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” -Galatians 2:20

Is your tea still warm? Did you get some cream for your coffee? I hope you had a great experience today at the Parchment Cadenza cafe, come back soon!

I assume now you are feeling quite informed about me. Perhaps you will be inspired to do some creative free writing about some twenty things about yourself for fun. I do recommend it.

May your baristas treat you right and may your tips be ever generous,

signature

 

 

 

 

Drop Me a Line

